Paralympic Shooting

Paralympic Shooting made its debut at the Paralympic Games in 1976 after a successful demonstration at the prior Games in Stoke Mandeville, GBR. In 1976, only 3 shooting events were contested. In the Tokyo Paralympic Games 13 events will be contested, 9 rifle events and 4 pistol events. Of the 13 events 8 are mixed gender, meaning men and women compete side by side.

Paralympic Shooting is divided into nine rifle and four pistol events, using both airguns and .22 caliber. The rules governing Paralympic competition are those used by World Shooting Para Sport. Those rules take into account the differences that exist between disabilities allowing ambulant and wheelchair athletes to compete shoulder to shoulder. The shooting disciplines match athletes of the same gender, or occasionally both genders, with similar disabilities, against each other, both individually and in teams. Paralympic shooting competition is open to male and female athletes with physical disabilities such as amputation/limb loss, spinal cord injury/wheelchair-users and cerebral palsy/brain injury/stroke.

Depending on the existing limitations (degree of body trunk functionality, balance while seating, muscle strength, mobility of both upper and lower limbs), and on the skills that are necessary in Shooting, athletes are divided into three classes: 

SH1: Pistol and Rifle competitors that do not require a shooting stand.

SH2: Rifle competitors who have no ability to support the weight of the air rifle with their arms and therefore require a shooting stand.

SH3: Rifle competitors with visual impairment. 

If you are interested in Paralympic Shooting or would like additional information please contact the Natioanl Paralympic Coach Don Stith at  .  

Paralympic Shooting at the Para Pan American Games

In 2019, Shooting was added to the program at the Para Pan American Championships. The 2019 Championships were contested in Lima, Peru. McKenna (Dahl) Geer won the first gold medal awarded at games and the first gold medal awarded ever in shooting at a Para Pan Championship with her win in the Mixed Air Rifle Standing SH2 (R4) event. The US Shooting Team lead the medal count and won every single event in the rifle disciplines.

 Historical Medal Count 

The United States Paralympic Shooting Team has won 5 Paralympic medals, 1 gold, 1 silver and 3 bronze. The 1984 Paralympics Games held in Stoke Mandeville/New York has been the US Paralympic Shooting Teams most successful games. Roger Withrow earned the first and only gold medal for the US in shooting in Men’s Air Rifle Prone. West Brownlow won a pair of bronze medals in Men’s Air Pistol and Air Rifle Kneeling. Daniel Jordan won a silver medal at the 2004 Athens Paralympic Games in the Men’s 3 Position (R7) event. McKenna (Dahl) Geer is the US Team's most recent Paralympic medalist. Geer captured the bronze medal in Mixed Air Rifle Prone SH2 (R5) in the 2016 Rio Paralympic Games. 

Roger Withrow

West Brownlow

Daniel Jordan

McKenna (Dahl) Geer

Men 's Air Rifle Prone Men's Air Pistol Men's 3 Position Rifle Mixed Air Rifle Prone
Men's Air Rifle Kneeling

  Additional Reading & Resources