ISSF World Clay Target Championship Preview

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (September 1, 2011)

The USA Shooting Team is en route to the International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) World Clay Target Championship in Belgrade, Serbia. In addition to the talented men and women of the USA Shooting Team, a full junior team will be competing as well. Members of both teams qualified at the National Championships and Fall Selection matches of 2010. Of the Americans competing, four (two open and two junior) shooters are defending World Champions. This bi-annual competition is unique in that it offers junior shooters the opportunity to bring home a World Championship gold medal in both team and individual matches. The championship begins on September 3 with the first final on Tuesday, Sept. 9, in Men's Trap and the last final on Sept.13, in Men's Skeet.   

Not only are team members fighting for a World Championship title, but Olympic quota places are on the line as well. Though the USA has won five quotas thus far, the team is aiming to earn an additional three quotas in Belgrade: a second Men's Double Trap quota and both Men's Trap quotas. The ISSF World Clay Target Championship represents the second to last competition prior to the Olympic Games where quota places are up for grabs.

After a successful ISSF World Cup season, the team is looking to continue its medal-winning ways. Four-time Olympic medalist Kim Rhode (El Monte, Calif.) and Josh Richmond (Hillsgrove, Pa.) have already achieved U.S. Olympic nominations for London 2012 (pending approval by the U.S. Olympic Committee) and are looking to defend their World Championship titles.

For reports on the finals, navigate to the USA Shooting website, Facebook or Twitter. Live results are available via the ISSF Website.

The ISSF World Clay Target Championship Team

Men's Trap Junior Men's Trap
Ryan Hadden (Pendleton, Ore.) Garrett Walters (Burr Oak, Mich.)
Lance Bade (Vancouver, Wash.) T.J. Bayer (College Station, Texas)
Collin Wietfeldt (Hemlock, Mich.) Dustin Anderson (Woodstock, Ga.)
Women's Trap Junior Women's Trap
Rachael Heiden (Clinton, Mich.) Miranda Wilder (Diana, Texas)
Corey Cogdell (Eagle River, Alaska) Ashley Carroll (Solvang, Calif.)
Caitlin Weinheimer (Kerrville, Texas) Janessa Beaman (Elbert, Colo.)
Men's Double Trap Junior Men's Double Trap
Josh Richmond (Hillsgrove, Pa.) Derek Haldeman (Sunbury, Ohio)
Jeff Holguin (Yorba Linda, Calif.) Billy Crawford (Johnstown, Ohio)
Glenn Eller (Katy, Texas) Ian Rupert (Muncy, Pa.)
Men's Skeet Junior Men's Skeet
Vincent Hancock (Eatonton, Ga.) T.J. Bayer (College Station, Texas)
Jon Michael McGrath (Tulsa, Okla.) Phillip Jungman (Caldwell, Texas)
Frank Thompson (Alliance, Neb.) Dustin Perry (Crockett, Texas)
Women's Skeet Junior Women's Skeet
Kim Rhode (El Monte, Calif.) Brandy Drozd (Bryan, Texas)
Caitlin Connor (Winnfield, La.) Morgan Craft (Hughesville, Pa.)
Jaiden Grinnell (Port Angeles, Wash.) Riley Moody (Collinsville, Okla.)


Catch all the latest updates and follow your team on USA Shooting's Facebook Page.  Photo courtesy of the ISSF.

Categories: 2011 World Clay Target Championship