Collegiate Rifle Competitor Anderson Highlights Start of 2013 Winter Airgun Championships

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (December 6, 2013)

Ryan Anderson was the day’s big winner to start the 2013 Winter Airgun Championships on Friday at the Olympic Training Center (OTC) in Colorado Springs, Colo. 

A collegiate shooter who competes at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks, Anderson (Wasilla, Alaska) won both the men’s open and junior air rifle finals. Anderson has helped lead the Nanooks to a No. 1 ranking in NCAA rifle through the season’s first half and was dominant today as well against elite-level competition.  

The men’s open air rifle final had a distinct collegiate flavor with Daniel Hermsmeier (Chesterfield, Mo.) of the University of Memphis finishing just behind Anderson in second place.  OTC resident athlete Tom Csenge (Colorado Springs, Colo.) finished third.  

Ryan Anderson earned gold medals in both open and junior Air Rifle finals to begin the 2013 Winter Airgun Championships.In the men’s junior air rifle final, Anderson topped National Champion and University of Kentucky Rifle shooter Connor Davis (Shelbyville, Ky.). The two have posted high scores throughout the collegiate season, but today it was Anderson finding his mark. Davis finished a disappointing eighth in the open final. Davis shared the podium with his Kentucky teammate Elijah Ellis (Kingsport, Tenn.).  

Air Force rifle shooters Meredith Carpentier (Waukegan, Ill.) and Kevyn Stinnett (Colorado Springs, Colo.) also shared the podium as Carpentier finishedfirst and Stinnett third in the junior women’s air rifle final.   Alaska-Fairbanks, Kentucky and Air Force were the only two schools to have two podium finishers on the day. 

Today’s competition marked the first competition to take place on the refurbished 10-meter ranges inside USA Shooting headquarters.  Thanks to the help of sponsor Megalink, both upper and lower ranges, 70 firing points in all, have been equipped with a new electronic scoring system.  In addition, the range has been upgraded with a completely new lighting system as well as other technology features as well as a new sound system.  

The process and unpredictability of a “zero” start final once again showed as only two of the eight event winners, Wyatt Brown (men’s junior pistol) and Carpentier (women’s junior air rifle), were actually leaders after their qualifying round as well.

The open Women’s Air Rifle final was won by OTC resident athlete Amy Sowash (Richmond, Ky.), who is regaining her old form having come back from injury as well as an assistant coaching stint at her alma mater, Kentucky.  She bested up-and-coming junior athlete Elizabeth Gratz (Sigel, Ill.).  Gratz will compete at West Virginia University next season after signing a letter-of-intent to compete there earlier this fall. In third place was Ole Miss rifle shooter Melisa Quatarone (Hoschton, Ga.).

In Air Pistol, 2012 Olympian Nick Mowrer (Butte, Mont.) outlasted Will Brown (Twin Falls, Idaho) in the final.  Brown, a 2013 World Cup gold medalist, shot a great qualifying score of 583, placing him four shots ahead of his nearest competitor.  Shots 15 and 16 of his final would ultimately cost him his chance for gold today with back-to-back 9.0 out of 10.9. Mowrer jumped ahead by shooting five of his last eight shots in the 10-ring compared to Brown’s three.  Brian Beaman (Selby, S.D.), a 2008 Olympian would finish in third place while three-time Olympian and 2008 Olympic bronze medalist Jason Turner (Rochester, N.Y.) finished in eighth place.

Competition resumes in the four contested airgun events Saturday at 7:45 a.m. with another new day of qualification and finals.  Events will conclude after three event days on Sunday with the simultaneous finals of Junior Women’s Air Pistol and Rifle.  Event finals begin each of the three days at 11:45 am. For a complete schedule, click HERE

For complete DAY 1 results, click here:

Top-3 Results

Men’s Air Rifle

  1. Ryan Anderson (Alaska Fairbanks/Wasilla, Alaska)
  2. Daniel Hermsmeier (Memphis/Chesterfield, Mo.)
  3. Tom Csenge (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Jr. Men’s Air Rifle

  1. Ryan Anderson (Alaska Fairbanks/Wasilla, Alaska)
  2. Connor Davis (Kentucky/Shelbyville, Ky.)
  3. Elijah Ellis (Kentucky/Kingsport, Tenn.)

Women’s Air Rifle

  1. Amy Sowash (Richmond, Ky.)
  2. Elizabeth Gratz (Sigel, Ill.)
  3. Melissa Quartarone (Ole Miss/Hoschton, Ga.)

Jr. Women’s Air Rifle

  1. Meredith Carpentier (Air Force/Waukegan, Ill.)
  2. Elizabeth Marsh (Searcy, Ark.)
  3. Kevyn Stinett (Air Force/Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Men’s Air Pistol

  1. Nick Mowrer (Butte, Mont.)
  2. Will Brown (Twin Falls, Idaho)
  3. Brian Beaman (Selby, S.D.)

Jr. Men’s Air Pistol

  1. Wyatt Brown (Twin Falls, Idaho)
  2. Daniel Cheon (Ceritos, Calif.)
  3. Glen Zimmerman (Waterville, Ohio)

Women’s Air Pistol 

  1. Courtney Anthony (Lexington, Neb.)
  2. Teresa Chambers (Dearborn, Mich.)
  3. Lydia Paterson (Kansas City, Kan.) 

Jr. Women’s Air Pistol

  1. Lydia Paterson (Kansas City, Kan.)
  2. Alana Townsend (Kalispell, Mont.)
  3. Darian Shenk (Annville, Pa.)
Categories: Press Releases, 2013 Winter Airgun Championships