Final Shots Decide Fate on Competitive Day 2 of 2013 Winter Airgun Championships

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (December 7, 2013)

Two finals hung in the balance until the very last shot with two come-from-behind winners highlighting a competitive second day of competition at the 2013 Winter Airgun Championships taking place at the Olympic Training Center (OTC) in Colorado Springs, Colo. 

Tension was highest in the junior competition for Men’s Air Pistol and Women’s Air Rifle with pistol shooter Brian Kim (Los Angeles, Calif.) and Air Force Academy rifle shooter Meredith Carpentier (Waukegan, Ill.) coming from behind on their final shots to capture Saturday’s gold medals in those events. 

In Junior Men’s Air Pistol, Joshua Yoo (Irvine, Calif.) had a 1-point advantage heading into the final shot only to falter with final shot of 6.9.  Kim sprung ahead for gold by virtue of a 10.0, good enough for a 2.1 margin of victory in the end.  

Similarly, the Junior Women’s Air Rifle also came down to a final shot featuring the same duo that battled for gold and silver in Friday’s final.  Carpentier and Elizabeth Marsh (Searcy, Ark.) were tied with four shots remaining in their 20-shot final.  On the second to last shot, Marsh seemed to have clinched gold this day after Carpentier shot a 9.5 to her 10.3, to put the 15-year-old Arkansas native ahead by .9 points.  Carpentier regained her composure to score a 10.2 final shot while Marsh succumbed to the pressure, shooting a 9.2 to give the Air Force junior the win by 1/10th of a point.  Despite the tough loss, Marsh has held her own against veteran competition having earned three silver medals over two days including a silver in the women’s open air rifle division against a savvy lineup of contenders. 

2012 Olympian Nick Mowrer has enjoyed a banner beginning to the 2013 Winter Airgun Championships having earned gold in two Air Pistol matches thus far.OTC resident athletes Nick Mowrer (Butte, Mont.) and Amy Sowash (Richmond, Ky.) have showcased superb skills through the events first two days as they become the only athletes in the four open divisions to have gold-medal finishes both days.   

It was a battle of Olympians in the Men’s Air Pistol final for Mowrer in winning for the second straight day.  He dueled three-time Olympian and 2008 Olympic bronze medalist Jason Turner (Rochester, N.Y.) for gold.  The difference in the match was Mowrer’s ability to score six deep 10-ring shots (10.5 or higher) compared with just three for Turner.  James Henderson (Midland, Ga.) finished in third-place. 

Sowash has excelled in both Women’s Air Rifle finals and will try for the trifecta on Sunday. 

Bryant Wallizer’s last 60 shots proved to be a lot better than his first 20 and for that, earned him a gold medal in open Men’s Air Rifle on the event’s second day.  Prior to the start of the finals, Wallizer explained how he adjusted his mindset after what he termed a “rough beginning.” 

“It sounds simple, but just concentrating on shot after shot,” Wallizer explained. “We have a tendency to analyze performance in groups of 10 (shots) and that leaves me nervous in the beginning and nervous in the end. After my first two strings (10 shots a string), I really tried to focus on just executing every shot and not get caught up on the overall group.” 

The alteration in mental approach worked as Wallizer (Little Orleans, Md.) was able to defeat Friday’s winner, Ryan Anderson (Wasilla, Alaska).  Jonathan Hall (Carrollton, Ga.), a 2012 Olympian in the event, climbed into the finals Saturday after a disappointing first match on Friday to claim the final podium place in third. 

Despite the loss by 6/10ths of a point Wallizer, Anderson continued to showcase his shooting prowess throughout the day on Saturday.  A double-event winner on Friday, Anderson finished first in the junior Air Rifle event to claim his third gold medal and fourth overall of the event.  Reigning National Champion Connor Davis (Shelbyville, Ky.) came up short to Anderson once again, losing by 1.2 points.  Anderson was extremely accurate in the junior final with just one of his 20 shots landing outside the 10-ring.  Davis’ Kentucky Wildcat teammate, Elijah Ellis (Kingsport, Tenn.), finished in third place.  The podium placement from Friday remained the exact same Saturday in this event. 

The same three podium finishers from Friday’s Women’s Air Pistol event again found the medal stand on Saturday, but this time it was OTC resident athlete Teresa Chambers (Dearborn, Mich.) coming away with the hard-earned victory over yesterday’s gold medalist Courtney Anthony (Lexington, Neb.).  Lydia Paterson (Kansas City, Kan.) was the event bronze medalist for the second consecutive day.  Paterson is tied with air rifle shooter Anderson with four medals through two days of competition having picked up bronze both days in the open category while winning both days on the junior side.

Competition concludes in the four contested airgun events Sunday with competition beginning at 7:45 a.m. with another new day of qualification and finals. Event finals begin each of the three days at 11:45 am. For a complete schedule, click HERE

For complete DAY 2 results, click here:

For event photos, go to USA Shooting’s FLICKR site at:

Saturday’s Top-3 Results

Men’s Air Rifle

  1. Bryant Wallizer (Little Orleans, Md.)
  2. Ryan Anderson (Alaska Fairbanks/Wasilla, Alaska)
  3. Jonathan Hall (Carrollton, Ga.) 

Jr. Men’s Air Rifle

  1. Ryan Anderson (Alaska Fairbanks/Wasilla, Alaska)
  2. Connor Davis (Kentucky/Shelbyville, Ky.)
  3. Elijah Ellis (Kentucky/Kingsport, Tenn.) 

Women’s Air Rifle

  1. Amy Sowash (Richmond, Ky.)
  2. Elizabeth Marsh (Searcy, Ark.)
  3. Meredith Carpentier (Air Force/Waukegan, Ill.) 

Jr. Women’s Air Rifle

  1. Meredith Carpentier (Air Force/Waukegan, Ill.)
  2. Elizabeth Marsh (Searcy, Ark.)
  3. Elizabeth Gratz (Sigel, Ill.) 

Men’s Air Pistol

  1. Nick Mowrer (Butte, Mont.)
  2. Jason Turner (Rochester, N.Y.)
  3. James Henderson (Midland, Ga.) 

Jr. Men’s Air Pistol

  1. Brian Kim (Los Angeles, Calif.)
  2. Joshua Yoo (Irvine, Calif.)
  3. Glenn Zimmerman (Waterville, Ohio) 

Women’s Air Pistol

  1. Teresa Chambers (Dearborn, Mich.)
  2. Courtney Anthony (Lexington, Neb.)
  3. Lydia Paterson (Kansas City, Kan.) 

Jr. Women’s Air Pistol

  1. Lydia Paterson (Kansas City, Kan.)
  2. Darian Shenk (Annville, Pa.)
  3. Alana Townsend (Kalispell, Mont.)
Categories: Press Releases, 2013 Winter Airgun Championships