USA Shooting Well-Represented Among ISSF Leadership after 2014 Elections

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (December 4, 2014)

The International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) General Assembly was held December 2-3 in Munich, Germany, where delegates from 122 countries, representing 128 member federations met to elect all ISSF leadership positions. USA Shooting will be well-represented among the highest ranks of the ISSF as a result of the election.

Under re-elected President Olegario Vazquez Raña (MEX), two-time Olympic champion and current USA Shooting Board of Director (BOD) member Gary Anderson will serve as one of four Vice Presidents. USA Shooting CEO/Executive Director was elected to the Executive Committee as one of five members while also being re-elected to the 15-person Administrative Council. USA Shooting President Dr. James Lally is Chair of the Medical Committee, while Susan Abbott is Pistol Committee Chair. USA Shooting BOD member Robert Aylward is a member of the Technical Committee, and 1984 Olympic bronze medalist Wanda Jewell is member of the Rifle Committee.

The ISSF General Assembly re-elected Vazquez Raña (MEX) to another four-year term as President receiving 165 votes to beat sole challenger Sheik Salman Al Sabah (KUW), who collected 128 votes. Vazquez Raña – a four-time Olympian and a rifle shooting record-setter – enters his ninth consecutive Presidential term since his first election in 1980.

“Thank you for your loyalty and for your trust,” Vazquez Raña said to the Delegates right after his re-election. “You have given me the opportunity to reaffirm my commitment to all sport shooters of the world and to this sport family that I love.  You can be certain that for the upcoming four years, changes and developments will continue. We will keep on working on our agenda, to make us stronger, to reach more athletes all around the world, so that our beloved sport will become more attractive to people and more solid in the Olympic movement. I am convinced that with your support the next four years will be really productive, because if we are united the future of our sport will be bright.”

Franz Schreiber (GER) was elected as the new ISSF Secretary General by unanimous decision of the General Assembly.

The two-time Olympic Champion Wang Yifu of the People's Republic of China and the President of the European Shooting Confederation Vladimir Lisin (RUS) were also elected as Vice Presidents joining and incumbent Luciano Rossi (ITA).

Re-elected ISSF Vice President Gary Anderson (middle) alongside re-elected President Olegario Vazquez Raña (right) and Secretary General Franz Schreiber.“Thanks for your confidence,” said Anderson after his re-election. “This is not only a special honor, it is a special duty and commitment to all our athletes and national federations. I will keep on working as hard as I can to fulfill this duty.”

In other General Assembly news, the ISSF General Assembly awarded the 2017 ISSF Shotgun World Championship to Moscow, Russia, beating out Maribor, Slovenia.  Eight total candidate cities were received including a bid submitted by USA Shooting to host the event at its Certified Training Center at the Tucson Trap and Skeet Club, site of the 2012 Olympic Team Trials and two previous World Cups. Bids were also received from the Royal Spanish Shooting Federation (Granada), the Cyprus Shooting Sport Federation (Nicosia), the Federation Mexicana de Tiro y Caza (Acapulco), the National Rifle Association of India (New Delhi), and the Malta Shooting Sport Federation (Mosta).

Categories: Press Releases