USA Shooting to Induct Glenn Dubis & Admiral Willis A. Lee into Hall of Fame

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (August 27, 2015)

The U.S. International Shooting Hall of Fame will induct two new members during a December ceremony as four-time Olympian Glenn Dubis and Admiral Willis A. Lee were selected among an all-star cast of candidates. 

The Hall of Fame induction will take place December 4 in Colorado Springs, Colorado as part of USA Shooting Alumni weekend taking place during the 2015 Winter Airgun Championships. 

DoD Photo by Steve McGill. Glenn Dubis stands on the winner's platform following men's smallbore competition at the 1987 Pan American Games where he was awarded gold medals in both the individual and team categories.A four-time Olympian (1984, 1988, 1996, 2000), Dubis finished outside the top-20 in just one of his eight Olympic events while finishing as high as fifth at the 1988 Olympic Games in Seoul. While an Olympic medal eluded him during his illustrious career, he still built an impressive shooting resume.  During his shooting career, Dubis won the World Rifle Championship three times, won the Rifle Championship five times at the Conseil International du Sport Militaire Championships (known as CISM or the Military World Championships) and set or tied six world records. He represented the United States in the CISM Military World Games - more than a dozen times. He is a member of the USAMU International Rifle Hall of Fame as well as his hometown's Athletic Hall of Fame.  In 1997, Dubis won individual Silver and Team Gold Medals at the Championship of the Americas, a Silver Medal in the Seoul, Korea, World Cup, three national championships and was a CISM team member. He was also named as the 1997 USA Shooting Male Rifle Shooter of the Year.  

Upon his retirement from the U.S. Army Marksmanship Unit (USAMU), then deputy commander Robert W. Aylward had this to say of Dubis:  "He's the Michael Jordan of the shooting world. People call the CISM rifle trophy the 'Dubis Trophy' because his name is engraved on it so many times; he's won the CISM Rifle Championship more times than everyone else in the world combined.” 

Dubis, a veteran of Operation Desert Storm, earned the nomination over distinguished candidates that included Ed Etzel, Jim Hill, David Kimes and Todd Graves. 

Admiral Willis A. LeeIn 1907, Lee became the only American to ever win both the open U.S. National Rifle and Pistol Championships in the same year.  A 1920 Olympian, Lee was a member of the Rifle and Running Target team competing in 14 events and finished as the high medal winner for the Games, taking home seven team medals overall including five gold, one silver and one bronze. “Shooting everything from army rifle to miniature (smallbore) and running target, Lee was an ever-present fixture on the Antwerp medal stand,” said Col. Jim Crossman in his book, Olympic Shooting.  Lee and his teammate Lloyd Spooner held the record for the most medals won at a single Olympics for 60 years.  

Admiral Lee, who passed away in 1945 at the age of 57, also enjoyed a distinguished naval career.  He commanded the U. S. Naval Battleship Division Six during the Battle of Guadalcanal that turned back a Japanese invasion force headed for the island. The victory ended Japanese attempts to reinforce their troops on Guadalcanal and marked a turning point in World War II.  Lee was later awarded the Navy Cross for his courageous leadership during that particular battle. 

Lee earned the nomination over candidates that included Don Haldeman, Colonel Jack Vincent, Major Frank Green and Offutt Pinion. 

The U.S. International Shooting Hall of Fame was established in 1991 by the NRA International Competitions Committee. Selection criteria was established that limited selection to those that had excelled in international competition over an extended period of time. There was also consideration given to those shooters in pre-1948 competitions and those who had served the U.S. Shooting Team in administrative or coaching positions. To be eligible nominees must have been retired from active international shooting at least five years. Living USA Shooting Hall of Fame members and USA Shooting Board of Directors were asked to nominate candidates and then joined with USA Shooting alumni in voting on the final nominees.  

U.S. International Shooting Hall of Fame

1991 - Gary L. Anderson, Lones W. Wigger, Jr., Alfred P. Lane, Morris Fisher

1992 - Margaret Thompson Murdock

1993 - Huelet (Joe) Benner and Walter Stokes 

1994 - William McMillan and Carl Osburn 

1995 - John H. Writer, Lawrence Nuesslein and Thomas Sharpe (Official)

1996 -John R. Foster and William C. Pullum (Official)

1998 - Lanny R. Bassham

1999 - Arthur C. Jackson

2000 - Matt Dryke

2001 - Arthur Cook

2002 - Tommy G. Pool

2004 - Launi Meili and Joseph B. Berry (Official)

2008 - Daniel Carlisle and Ruby Fox

2013 - Walter Walsh and Pat (Spurgin) Pitney

2015 - Glenn Dubis & Admiral Willis A. Lee

Click here to find out more information about the U.S. International Shooting Hall of Fame and find bios of all the inductees. 

Categories: Press Releases