LU Lions Earn 14th-Straight Title & 12 Athletes Earn USA Shooting Collegiate Team Recognition at 49th ACUI Collegiate Clay Target Championship

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado (April 3, 2017)

There’s seemingly no stopping Lindenwood University and their reign atop the collegiate shotgun world.  The Lions demonstrated as much in this weekend’s march to their 14th-straight national title at the 2017 Association of College Unions International (ACUI) Collegiate Clay Target Championship in San Antonio, Texas. 

Now in its 49th year, the Collegiate Clay Target Championships proves that the shotgun sports are alive and well with 828 student athletes competing from 85 schools, which is 120 more students than in 2016.  

The deep Lindenwood squad swept the team competition in all six ACUI events.  USA Shooting National Team athlete Myles Walker (Elkhorn, Wisconsin) and National Junior athlete Nic Moschetti (Broomfield, Colorado) helped keep the record streak alive for LU. The Lions are coached by longtime USA Shooting Team athlete and 2004 Olympian Shawn Dulohery, and their alumni includes 2016 Olympic finalist Morgan Craft (Muncy Valley, Pennsylvania). 

Texas A&M University, led by National Junior Team member Zach McBee (College Station, Texas), finished second followed by Bethel (Tenn.) University. 

Twelve collegiate shotgun shooters including National Team athlete Sydney Carson (North Liberty, Indiana) and Junior Olympic Squad members Stephanie Gutierrez (Valencia, California) and Aaron Wilson (Lansing, Kansas) will represent their respective colleges and universities on the inaugural USA Shooting Collegiate Team following competition in the International Shootout Wednesday that go things underway. 

This is the fourth year that ACUI’s has hosted the International Shootout featuring competition for both men and women in the International Skeet and Trap events.  This is the first year that a full international course of fire has been conducted featuring two days of competition, 125 targets plus a Final. 

Competitors for this event were selected from top finishers during ACUI International Conference Championships and Super Shoots in Tillar, Arkansas, San Antonio, Tucson, Arizona, Colorado Springs, Colorado and Fort Benning, Georgia. Additional spots were filled using top scores from participants at the Eastern International Conference Championship, Lower Midwest International Conference Championship, Western International Conference Championships, and East and West Super Shoots. 

Prize awards for the International Shootouts are placed in the team’s MidwayUSA Foundation endowment account for which the student athlete is competing.  Top six finalists earn $500 with the third-place finisher getting another $500, while second garners an additional $1,000 while the Champion earns $2,000. 

It was a big day for the Martin Methodist (Tenn.) College Redhawks who claimed three of the four champions and earned five total team spots.  The Redhawks, coached by USA Shooting’s Development Coach of the Year in 2015 Chad Whittenburg, have been building a competitive collegiate program since the program began four years ago and the fruit of that labor is starting to be realized as evidenced by their Scholastic Clay Target Program (SCTP) National Championship in 2016. They finished second overall in the Division II standings behind Midland (Neb.) University.  Midland is coached by four-time Olympian  Bret Erickson. 

USA Shooting National Team member and Redhawk sophomore Sydney Carson earned championship honors in Women’s International Skeet. Ari Montemayor (Baylor) was second while Erin Lokke (Concordia University, Nebraska) finished third. 

Carson’s teammate, Colin King (Mount Pleasant, Tennessee), earned the title in Men’s Skeet while former USA Shooting Junior Team member Remington McBee (Schreiner University) was second.  Redhawk Aaron Wilson finished third.  

Coleman Etelkozi (Tampa, Florida), a Redhawk sophomore, earned the top podium spot in Men’s International Trap.  Joining him was runner-up Austin Svoboda (Fort Hays State University, Kansas) and third-place finisher George Clark (University of Arizona).  

Barbara Brown (University of the Ozarks, Arkansas) grabbed the win in Women’s Trap followed by Sierra Stokes (Texas Tech) and Redhawk freshman Stephanie Gutierrez

ACUI Results:

Categories: Press Releases