USA Shooting Wraps Up Winter Airgun Event in Port Clinton, Ohio and Anniston, Alabama

Despite only having a few weeks left in 2020 and the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, USA Shooting with the help of The Civilian Marksmanship Program (CMP) hosted 2020 Winter Airgun Championships (WAG)The event spanned 3 days in Anniston, Alabama and Port Clinton, Ohio simultaneously at two CMP locations.  

Members of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic team, USAS National Team, NCAA athletes, juniors and seniors took part in the event. COVID-19 precautions were put in place including, but not limited to, taking temperatures of all persons upon arrival, social distancinglimiting spectators, and sanitizing the entire building and ranges between relays.  

The events included Air Rifle, Air Pistol, Para Air Rifle, and Para Air Pistol as well as a “super final” 20-shot series on the third day of competition where competitors won prizes from partners like SKB Cases, ELEY Ammunition, and a combined $4,500 in cash prizes.  

On the first two days of the competition scores were combined to determine Friday and Saturday prizes. Olympic Air Rifle Team Member, Lucas Kozeniesky, and 2016 Air Rifle Gold Medalist, Ginny Thrasher, took the top men and women’s spots respectively in Port Clinton, Ohio. National Paralympic Team Members Jazmine Almlie-Ryan and Taylor Farmer swept their respective categories through both days of competition. Other notable performances include Emme Walratha J3 competitor who set a new National Record on Day 1 of the competition with a score of 621.1 as well as Paul Borthwick who set a new Senior National Record on Day 1 with a score of 605.7 

Down in Anniston, USAMU athletes Tim Sherry and Sagen Maddalena, who competed virtually, took first place in both Men’s and Women’s rifle. Olympic Team Member Mary Tucker also placed first in Junior Women’s Rifle down south. Mary Tucker held onto her lead on Sunday over National Team Member Anna Weilbacher. Both women made it into the super final but were eliminated before the final shot. The Women’s Pistol category saw Olympic Team Member, Alexis Lagan, in first, and Olympic Team Alternates, Katelyn Abeln and Nathalia Tobar in second and third, respectively. National Paralympic Team Members, Stetson Bardfield and Kevin Nguyen placed first in R5 and R3 categories respectively.  

Results for the entire weekend can be found on

Winter Airgun Championships

Camp Perry EXCEL PDF

Anniston EXCEL | PDF

Competition really heated up on Day 3 with the super final format. All scores from the previous two days were reset and competitors shot a 20-shot series in 20 minutes to select the top three athletes from each relay, plus random draws to determine who was in the running for the cash prizes. Athletes were eliminated via a 20-shot super final to go head-to-head with another athlete from the opposite location. In an exciting live screenshare of shots, Scott Rockett just barely missed the first-place super final title to Natalie Perrin in Air Rifle while Nathalia Tobar led an impressive last two shots in the final to take home the top cash prize with Lisa Emmert taking home second.  

Photos from the entire weekend can be found on CMP’s website HERE: 

USA Shooting is proud to have offered this Winter Airgun Championship competition amidst the event cancellations and overall uncertainty in 2020. USA Shooting is extremely grateful for the Civilian Marksmanship Program who co-hosted the event at their range locations. USA Shooting began sanctioning events again on June 1 and is continuing to sanction state and local events and recommends clubs follow specific guidelines from their individual state’s governor and the CDC.