Junior Rifle Finalists Battle for Top Titles at Hillsdale College

The top eight athletes overall for men’s smallbore, men’s air, women’s smallbore, and women’s air compete tomorrow in a finals competition to determine the overall National Rifle Junior Olympic Champions. The finals competitions begin with Men’s Smallbore Rifle at 9 a.m. at Hillsdale College in the Biermann Athletic Center. Full schedule, including the start list with scores can be found on the website (  

Tokyo-bound Olympians and University of Kentucky athletes, Will Shaner and Mary Tucker sit at the top of both their respective men and women categories heading into the finals.  

The men’s and women’s smallbore and air start listalso include Olympic alternate, Matt Sanchez and all six El Salvador Rifle Team members: Scott Rockett, John Blanton, Gavin Barnick, Katie Zaun, Natalie Perrin, and Katrina Demerle who brought home a combined 5 rifle medals in the El Salvador Junior Grand Prix in March 2021 

Braden Peiser is the only J2 athlete in the men’s finals and will compete in the men’s smallbore rifle event. On the women’s side, Julianna Hays and Bremen Butler are the two J2 women competing in the smallbore final and the only other J2 athletes competing in the air rifle final are Katrina Demerle and Rachael Charles.  


The top athletes per discipline are as follows:  

Men’s Smallbore Rifle 

  1. Will Shaner 
  2. Rylan Kissell 
  3. Matt Sanchez 
  4. Gavin Barnick 
  5. Braden Peiser 
  6. Derek Keiser 
  7. Andrew Duryea 
  8. Parker Haydin 

Women’s Smallbore:  

  1. Mary Tucker 
  2. Katie Zaun 
  3. Molly McGhin 
  4. Natalie Perrin 
  5. Julianna Hays 
  6. Stephanie Allan
  7. Morgan Kreb 
  8. Bremen Butler 


Men’s Air Rifle 

  1. Will Shaner 
  2. Rylan Kissell 
  3. Gavin Perkowski 
  4. Scott Rockett 
  5. John Blanton III 
  6. Gavin Barnick 
  7. Andrew Duryea 
  8. Derek Keiser 


Women’s Air:  

  1. Mary Tucker 
  2. Katie Zaun 
  3. Katrina Demerle 
  4. Claire O’Neel 
  5. Molly McGhin 
  6. Rachael Charles 
  7. Natalie Perrin 
  8. Alison Henry 


Follow USA Shooting on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter for live updates and results from Rifle National Junior Olympic Championships